top of page
  • Maleia Ferguson

Wolves take to the stage


The cast for the Encinal Drama Club's production of "The Wolves." Photo by Noah Yiu

Following the successful spring musical production of Legally Blonde, Encinal’s Drama Club will perfom The Wolves on December 9-10. The play is directed by drama advisor Lachelle Morris, an Encinal alumna who starred as Anita in the school's 2010 production of West Side Story.


The Wolves, written by Sara DeLappe, follows the lives of nine girls on a high school indoor soccer team with scenes showcasing dialogue during their pregame warmups. Students Inky Arneson (10), Jamie Bowles (9), Ava Brandt (9), Samantha Cleminshaw (10), Ava Diener(10), Amelia Ericson (10), Caitlyn MacAskill (12), Kelis McCrea (9), and Claire Paano (9) star in the play.


“I am very excited, I heard that we already have forty tickets, which is a lot,” said Arneson, “I can’t even imagine 40 people being in this room right now, I’m excited.”


This year, the cast is made up of a wide array of actresses, with many students like Arneson being experienced with acting while some are getting their first introduction to theater.


“[I’m nervous] it’s my first play... there’s gonna be a lot of people,” said McCrea, “But honestly, I’m gonna be ready for it and I know my lines.”


The Wolves will be the first production for several students, and Ms. Morris' director's debut. It's also Encinal’s first fall play since 2019.


“I feel pretty scared, excited, all of the above, because this is my directorial debut, this is my first show ever that I’m serving as director, and it’s an intense show,” said Morris. “I’ve gotten so much support from the community, all these different businesses, parents, and staff as well, so that’s made things very easy for me this time, usually it’s not that easy. But still, it comes with its challenges.”


Theatrical poster for "The Wolves"

Taking on a director's role came with many challenges and obstacles. According to Morris, the drama department is no longer funded by the district, making it a club that must generate funds through fundraisers and donations. Recently, many organizations, including the Oakland Roots, have offered to fund.


“The Roots have generously agreed to donate prizes of tickets and merchandise for a Drama Club fundraiser at the shows,” said Morris.


Despite this obstacle, the Drama Club has learned to work as a team and bond as community. Performers hold high hopes for opening night.


“I like the sense of community,” said Bowles. “In past experiences, like in elementary and middle school, it was just a class like everyone was just forced to do it, but I like that here everyone chose to do it so everyone is enthusiastic about it.”


Before attending, keep in mind parental caution; the play contains sensitive conversations that cover political and personal topics, including the Cambodian Genocide and sexual situations that could trigger or bring discomfort to watchers. Showings on December 9 and 10 will be at the Encinal High School cafeteria, starting at 7 PM. Tickets can be purchased online at GoFan. Admission is $5 for students, $10 for seniors, and $15 for adults.


Inky Arneson contributed to this article.

53 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page